5 Days Before Christmas Trees are Legal!

November 23, 2008

My entire childhood I always hated Thanksgiving. I’ve always been a picky eater and a holiday centered around food was never enticing. My extended family was always so uninteresting, lots of church people with nothing more interesting to say then “So how’s school?” Dysfunctional would have been so much more exciting. For a few years, instead of cooking a dinner, we would just go out the Ryan‘s all-you-can-eat buffet, this was amazing. I didn’t have to worry about offending anyone for not trying their dish. If you didn’t like one of your choices, you didn’t have to be respectful of the cook and keep it quiet. I got to eat un-Thanksgiving’s Day food, like fired chicken, pizza, french fries, ice cream cones, and gummi bears.

Those days have come and gone, now I’m married. Ashley’s family is absolutely crazy for Thanksgiving. To them it’s a bigger holiday then Christmas. Being around people who are so wacko for Thanksgiving, has made me appreciate it more, even enjoy it.

This Black Friday, I encourage everyone to forgo the classy stores and get their redneck on, go to K-Mart or Wal-Mart. When you return home, get that tree up pronto!

5 Responses to “5 Days Before Christmas Trees are Legal!”

  1. rache said

    when i was in virginia I used to go to a restaurant that looks exactly like Ryan’s but I can’t remember if that’s also the name of that restaurant… that’s a cute picture of the dog and the cat…

    I’ll add your blog to my blog roll 🙂 let’s exchange link ok.. 🙂

  2. Suprina said

    Thank you so much for stopping by my little blog.
    My kids love Ryans. And So do I. I am fortunate in that I only have ONE picky eater. All he eats from the main dinner is Sweet Potatoes and rolls. I don’t make him eat anything else. Why should I? It’s a time of Thanksgiving….not making a kid eat what they don’t want.

    I make a HUGE Thankgiving Dinner. Since we can’t be with our family. We live over 600 miles away from family.

    We love Christmas as well. However, we have to wait a little while longer to put up our tree because my middle sons birthday is the second week of Dec. We like to give him his just do.

    Have a great Thanksgiving and Holdiay season.

  3. mrsfawhittaker said

    Thanks for stopping by and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  4. Look at all of your fans!!

    Haha “wacko for Thanksgiving”…

  5. Sw Eden said

    So cute

    you have lovely funny experience

Leave a Reply

